We are redirecting you toChileatiende.cl

The portal ofprocedures and benefits of the state

Metropolitan Region

The institutional mission of the Metropolitan Regional Government is to represent the President of Chile in the implementation of public policies according to his or her government program. It must also foster, oversee and promote the region’s economic, social and cultural development by formulating and executing the budget for regional investment. The region has a total surface area of 15,403.2 km² and a population of 7,112,808 inhabitants according to the 2017 Census. Administratively, it is composed of 6 provinces (Chacabuco, Cordillera, Maipo, Melipilla, Santiago and Talagante), which are divided into 52 districts. The regional capital is the city of Santiago, which is also the nation’s capital.

Felipe Guevara


Felipe Guevara holds an undergraduate degree in History and Geography from Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile; a master’s in Political Science from Heidelberg University; a master’s in Management and Public Policy from Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez; and a master’s in Business Administration from Universidad de Los Andes.

He spent 11 years at the Municipality of Vitacura, where he served as Community Development Director and Health and Education Director. He also taught the course “Institution and Political Ideas” at Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, where he was the Academic Coordinator for the Certificate Program in Senior Municipal Management.

He won the 2009 municipal elections and became Mayor of Lo Barnechea, a position he held for 10 years before President Sebastián Piñera named him Regional Governor for the Metropolitan Region of Santiago on October 30, 2019.

52 Municipalities


Calera de Tango


Lo Espejo


María Pinto


Padre Hurtado


Pedro Aguirre Cerda


San José de Maipo